Chill in the air

Wow. The crisp mornings have been hinting at fall but as I left the house after 6 a.m. this past Saturday morning to meet up with my marathon training group, I had to actually pause and get out the windshield scraper! It was a very chilly morning at 37 degrees. But, let me talk you, an 18-mile run will warm you up! After missing the last several weeks with the group, it was good to be back with the group. There’s just something about running with other people pursuing the same goal as yourself, you know? It makes me feel like I’m a part of something.

Also had a great time Saturday afternoon catching up with an old college friend while she and her family were in Stillwater for the day. Enjoyed a little snack at Fuzzy’s Tacos.

20131021-124717.jpg

Um, hello, Fuzzy’s? Why doesn’t Tulsa have one of these? I’m pretty sure I could drown myself in chips and guac.

20131021-125256.jpg

Enjoyed listening to Mark Gibson with some girlfriends at Doc’s over a glass of wine on Saturday night. A group of us discovered Mark and his buddy Ryan at a local Tulsa event this past spring. He pops up at a bunch of great venues all over town. A dish of Doc’s gourmet mac and cheese, a nice Shiraz and some girl talk with some great music in the background and it was a perfect way to pass a crisp October evening relaxing on the town.

Finally got around to making a batch of White Chili on Sunday afternoon. I have been craving it for a week! Of course, it wouldn’t be fall soup season without a batch of Johnnycake either. Johnnycake is one of my most coveted recipe requests. And, no, I don’t give it out. Okay, I gave it out one and only time. And she knows who she is. 🙂

20131021-125849.jpg

I will give out my White Chili recipe if you’re looking for a new soup to add to the recipe box. It’s also a great way to use up all the leftover turkey you’re sure to have at Thanksgiving.

White Chili

Ingredients:

  • 1 T. olive oil
  • 1 1/2 cups onion, diced
  • 1 1/2 cups celery, diced
  • 1-7 oz can green chiles
  • 1 tsp. dried oregano
  • 1 tsp. ground cumin
  • 1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper
  • 3-15 oz. cans great northern beans, rinsed and drained
  • 3 cups chicken broth
  • 1/2 cup white wine (I used a Sauvignon Blanc but any dry white wine will do.)
  • 4 cups cooked chicken or turkey, diced (I used a rotisserie chicken from my local market. Much easier!)

To assemble:

Heat oil in large dutch dutch oven over medium high heat.  Saute onion and celery until tender. Reduce heat to medium and add spices and green chiles; cook for about 5 minutes.  Add white wine and simmer for another 5 minutes.  Add chicken broth and beans and bring all to a simmer over low heat for at least 20 minutes.  Can top with a squeeze of lime and avocado wedges, dollop of sour cream and/or shredded monterrey jack cheese!

2 responses to “Chill in the air

  1. Mmmmm… That looks delicious. How about the Johnny cake recipe? JK!!

Leave a comment